Sign In


Latest News
Sailors Complete Transat

Sailors Complete Transat

Start of the Artemis TransatThe Artemis Transat 2008, which featured some of the world’s best sailors in a race across the Atlantic from Plymouth to Boston, was hailed a complete success.

At a prize-giving ceremony in Boston at the end of May, the top finishers were honoured for their achievements during their 12-16 days at sea in the 3,000-mile solo sailing challenge.

Loick Peyron at the finish line
First across the finish line was Loick Peyron aboard the Gitana Eighty. The Frenchman claimed his third victory in the event as well as a new race record, finishing in just under 12-and-a-half days.

Some 7 hours and 43 minutes later, Armel Le Cléac’h aboard Brit Air brilliantly captured second place, proving he’s definitely a force to be reckoned with.

Samantha Davies celebrates
Thirty-three year old Samantha Davies was the first Briton to finish solo race. Samantha sailed her 60-foot monohull Roxy across the finish line in a time 15 days, 10 hours, 00 minutes and 51 seconds.

For the last 24 hours, Sam battled a biting and gusty 25 to 35 knot headwind, but crossed the line with a huge smile.

Out of the 13 IMOCA boats that started The Artemis Transat on Sunday, 11 May, only three Britons made the start line after Mike Golding, Brian Thompson and Jonny Malbon were forced, for different reasons, to withdraw from this famous solo transatlantic race at the last minute.

Samantha Davies, Dee Caffari (Aviva) and Steve White (Spirit of Weymouth) were the only competing British competitors, and Davies has put in a fantastic solo performance to bring home Roxy in fifth place.

Dee Caffari finished eighth in her first solo race on board her new IMOCA Aviva. Steve White crossed the line in ninth out of 13 starters.

Complete and final results – IMOCA 60
1- Loïck Peyron (Gitana Eighty) in 12d 11h 45′ 35 (including 2h30 jury redress)
2- Armel Le Cléac’h (Brit Air) in 12d 19h 28′ 40” – 7h 43′ 05” after the winner
3- Yann Eliès (Generali) in 13d 15h 00′ 22” – 1d 3h 14′ 47” after the winner
4- Marc Guillemot (Safran) in 14d 21h 18′ 47” – 2d 9h 33′ 12” after the winner
5- Samantha Davies (Roxy) in 15d 10h 00′ 51" – 2d 22h 15′ 16" after the winner
6- Yannick Bestaven (Cervin EnR) in 15d 14h 31′ 17” – 3d 02h 45′ 42" after the winner
7- Arnaud Boissières (Akena Verandas) in 15d 16h 00′ 03" – 3d 04h 14′ 28" after the winner
8- Dee Caffari (Aviva) in 16d 02h 05′ 34" – 3d 14h 19′ 59" after the winner
9- Steve White (Spirit of Weymouth) in 16d 15h 04′ 54" – 4d 03h 19′ 19" after the winner

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *